Proudly Showing Off!

In the past few weeks, I have been bent over working on and crating training decks for a new program that we’re rolling out in a few months. I usually get stumped on verb tenses, but while I was going over the arsenal of activities I had on the topic, I thought of switching the article and the hypothetical I had worked so hard to make up. I replaced it with a portion of a movie. I used “The Pursuit of Happyness” with Will Smith. I don’t have a DVD of the movie, and I don’t know how to download from torrent either, so I stuck with Youtube. I did find a copy of a a portion of the movie, and luckily, it would work well as I try to elicit the past progressive tense.

Poster-pursuithappyness

(image taken from: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/8/81/Poster-pursuithappyness.jpg)

So I’ll have the class watch a movie and ask these questions afterwards in order to elicit the past progressive tense.

1.What was Will Smith doing when his landlord knocked on the door?

2.When did the police arrest Will Smith? What was he doing at this time?

3. What was his wife doing when she got the call?

4.What did Will Smith do as he entered the elevator?

5.What was he doing when the secretary called out his name?

Overall, I think it’s a good way to practice verb tenses. But when I was reminded of the guidelines for the video, I realised I fell short because the copy I got was not as clear as I would have liked it to be. The video was dark so I think some students might not catch some students’ attention. The video was relevant and would contribute to the instruction in a positive way, and I made sure to place it effectively right smack center of the slide, but it was not clear and focused, so I’d give myself low marks for that. I think I should learn how to download a movie in torrent in order to improve this.

 

Leave a Reply

